Story by MC3 Kevin Murphy
Photo by MC3 Kenneth Abbate

Through community relations projects or writing to young children, in many ways Sailors share their love, but this deployment two female Sailors gave up locks of their hair.

Information Systems Technician 3rd Class Elin Williams and Aviation Boatswain’s Mate (Equipment) 3rd Class Jovie Frame donated their hair to Locks of Love, a non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially-disadvantaged kids across the United States under the age of 18.

For Frame her benevolence is a habit she developed since she was a young girl, and for Williams she thought of nothing but the people in her life affected by cancer when her 18 inches of her hair was being snipped off.

“I’ve been donating my hair since middle school,” said Frame. “Growing up in Florida, it gets hot in the summer so I would cut my hair a shorter length. It started at the place I used to get my hair cut at, they asked me if I wanted to donate my hair, I did, so since then I made it a habit to always donate my hair every summer.”

“I always wanted to donate my hair but it was never long enough,” said Williams. “My sister donates her hair, I had a cousin and aunt who have had cancer, and my husband’s boss’s wife has cancer. It makes me feel good, being out here on the ocean and doing something for somebody who lost their hair.”

Frame and Williams participated in Stennis’ First Class Petty Officer Association “Shave your Head” fundraiser and both agreed to participate in the contest if their hair was donated. In the ship’s barber shop, their hair was braided into locks, cut, placed into a plastic Ziploc bags and sent to Locks for Love.

“My hair isn’t going to be on my head forever, I am going to it cut off eventually so I think it’s best to give it to someone,” said Frame. “It’s the same thing with toys, we play with them and then when they’re old and we don’t want them, we give them away.”

Frame has thick jet black hair that ran little past her shoulder blades and Williams 18-inch light brown hair gave Locks of Love plenty of hair to turn into wigs.

“I never had hair long enough to donate,” said Williams. “I never had hair this short before either. I wake up with an afro every day.”

Both women find immense pleasure in knowing their hair is going to make someone else’s life better even though they will never meet them.

“If I could say something to the person who gets my hair I would say you are beautiful with or without hair and you will always be beautiful,” said Frame.

